Various – Imahe Nasyon (2006)

MAHE NASYON… a groundbreaking, conceptual omnibus film by 20 alternative filmmakers who were tasked to present their personal visions on national issues. It is underlined by a conceptual question asked by line producers Jon Red & Carol Bunuan-Red:”How do you see the past 20 years?”

In 2006, IMAHE NASYON attempts to answer the question. That question also became a thematic and uniting thread across the films, but each film is made of different cinematic genres that is representative of the filmmaker’s style, stressing the concept that in spite of individual visions we share the same goal: to depict a truthful image of the nation.The omnibus project was conceptualized by Jon and Carol in commemoration of Edsa 1, a political revolution that changed their generation forever. It is also a celebration of the struggle and growth of Philippine Independent Cinema which, in essence, is a cultural revolution only now gaining public acceptance.

A unique and common element in IMAHE NASYON is rising Indie actor PING MEDINA who is featured in all the 20 films. He represents the next generation who will play a crucial role in the direction of the nation and its image.
Imahe Nasyon was directed by Poklong Anading, Emman Dela Cruz, Yeye Calderon, Neil Daza, Lav Diaz, Tad Ermitaño, Mes de Guzman, Rox Lee,Topel Lee, Milo Paz, Robert Quebral, Ellen Ramos, Raymond Red, R.A.Rivera, Lyle Sacris, EJ Salcedo, Sig Sanchez, Dennis Empalmado, Ogi Sugatan, Paolo Villaluna

Milo Alto-Paz (segment “Lugaw”) (as Milo Paz)
Poklong Anading (segment “Between Intersections”)
Sigfried Barros Sanchez (segment “Aksyon Star”)
Yeye Calderon (segment “Silid”)
Neil Daza (segment “Biyaheng EDSA”)
Ramon Mez de Guzman (segment “Tsinelas”)
Emmanuel Dela Cruz (segment “Imagining EDSA”) (as Emman Dela Cruz)
Lav Diaz (segment “Nang Matapos Ang Ulan”)
Dennis Empalmado (segment “Tawa”)
Tad Ermitaño (segment “Local Unit”)
Topel Lee (segment “Ang Manunulat”)
Robert Quebral (segment “Barado”)
Ellen Ramos (segment “Speci Men”)
Raymond Red (segment “Mistulang Kamera Obskura”)
R.A. Rivera (segment “Public Service Announcement”)
Roxlee (segment “La Pula”)
Lyle Sacris (segment “W.I.P.”)
E.J. Salcedo (segment “Talahib”)
Ogi Sugatan (segment “5 Minutes”)
Paolo Villaluna (segment “One Shot”)


Subtitles:English Soft Subs


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button