Jean Painlevé – Science is Fiction: 23 Films by Jean Painlevé (2009) (DVD)

The mesmerizing, utterly unclassifiable science films of Jean Painlevé (1902-89) must be seen to be believed: delightful, surrealist-influenced dream works that are also serious science. The French filmmaker-scientist-inventor had a decades-spanning career in which he created hundreds of short films on subjects ranging from astronomy to pigeons to, most famously, such marine-life marvels as the sea horse and the sea urchin. This definitive three-disc Criterion collection brings together the best of these, and includes more than two hours of interviews with the filmmaker, drawn from the eight-part French television series Jean Painlevé Through His Films, directed by Denis Derrien and Hélène Hazera. Also included is The Sounds of Science, an original score by Yo La Tengo to Jean Painlevé’s films, plus an interview with the band.

DVD Source: Criterion
Region 1
DVD9—3 disc set
DVD Format: NTSC
Program: Mac the Ripper
Aspect ratio 1.33:1
Runtime: 315 Minutes
Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono
DVD Release: 21 April 2009
Menus: Untouched
Video: Untouched
Audio: Untouched


About admin

One comment

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for this one !!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.